Not back to school!

So it’s that time of year again where Facebook is full of ‘first day at school’ photos and posts where parents feel sad that the long summer days they have spent with their children are over. 
 The count down to the next school holidays starts already for both parents and teachers. 

This time of year bring so many mixed emotions for me. I feel happy and sad, thankful yet overwhelmed. 

Im so happy I no longer have to share my boys with school. No more living in dread of the holidays ending. No more lonely empty house between the hours of 9 and 3.  I am sad that I ever sent them into school and I feel sad for the patents that either don’t realise this is an option or can’t make it work for them. 

I am so thankful for my friend who told me this was an option and for all the wonderful people we have met through the world of home ed.  I am thankful for the opportunities we have had in our journey that we wouldn’t have had otherwise. 

  
I also still have days that I feel so overwhelmed that the entire education they need comes from me. That they have goals and dreams and I need to help them achieve these both emotionally  and academically. 

So to all parents and all children as we head into a new school year, whether you home ed or go to school I wish you all the best of luck, lots of happiness, lots of laughter and with a prevailing wind lots of success. 

Leave a Reply

