Hippy or not hippy

Why is it you step away from ‘the norm’ and all of a sudden you are labelled?  I have been labelled. A hippy apparently.

flower-child-336658_1280

Here are the things that apparently make me a hippy

  • I home educate my boys
  • I have repierced my nose after 18 years of not wearing it
  • I have recently become a vegan. Not a big step for me as I have been vegetarian for the past 18 years
  • I want to dye my hair some funky colour

And finally today I told my hubby that I am making my own kitchen roll from old rags and he too labelled me hippy.

Who else here is a hippy?

If doing the best for our children and living a life that’s better for the world we leave our children makes us hippies then shouldn’t we all be proud to be one?

4 thoughts on “Hippy or not hippy

  1. me! I’ve been called a hippy since I was about 14. Also crunchy and just plain weird. I think I have a long way to go to be truly “hippy” or crunchy, but whatever. If it makes people happy to label you, let them get on with it; it shouldn’t change your feelings about the things you do. What’s that quote? Something like “other people’s opinions of you are none of your business”. I like it. You’re not hurting anyone, so carry on with what makes you happy 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t used kitchen roll for years, never occurred to me that someone might find that ‘hippy’. I just thought it made better sense then repeatedly buying paper to put in the bin.

    I’d do it with loo roll as well, but OH says he doesn’t think he could deal with that.

    I just think it’s sensible.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always been one to be bothered by other peoples opinions of me. I am working on this.
    At least I am in good ‘hippy’ company. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

